top of page
Search
  • jhaigh6

AHWA Mentorship

August 2021



I am beyond thrilled to announce that I have been selected for an AHWA mentorship!


My mentor will be the brilliant, prolific, Kaaron Warren — award-winning author of Into Bones Like Oil, Walking the Tree, The Grief Hole, Slights, Mistification, and a raft of speculative short stories.


Over the next three months, with Kaaron’s guidance, I’ll be reworking the opening chapters of my dark, folkloric novel, A Harbour Not a Home.


With such an incredible mentor on board, I’m super excited for all that I’m about to learn and eager to get stuck into the work ahead!




A Harbour Not a Home:


In a forgotten, colonial town at the bottom of the world, nineteen-year-old fry-cook, Marte, is struggling to keep her homicidal tendencies in check. Here, among the sandstone cottages and banksias, walk the Life and Death folk, those who harvest magic from nature or blood, and Marte’s estranged father is one of the worst.



Links:


AHWA (Australasian Horror Writers Association) - https://australasianhorror.com/


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writers of the Future Competition

Awarded a Silver Honourable Mention! Established over three decades ago, and judged by some of the world's finest writers of science fiction and fantasy, the Writers of the Future Contest is a BIG dea

Story Hour 2022

Hosted by Daniel Marcus and Laura Blackwell, Story Hour is a livestream speculative reading program that sprang to life way back in the chaotic world of 2020. I first met Laura at Fearscapes 2021 and

bottom of page